FireFoxRox

If Wendy can’t convince you I doubt I can because I’m not nearly as eloquent as she is, but, give FireFox a try.

I was on IE7 and started having some buggy problems with my laptop.  After spending a couple of hours [!] on the phone with Tech “Support”  they said – it must be the program [!].  “HA” says I, they are just trying to blame someone else, this is IEfreaking7 its the backbone of today’s surfing environment!  I’ll try their lame excuse suggestion, switch to Firefox, have the same issues then throw it right back in their face when I have to call back!

Problem is, it’s been 2 weeks and I haven’t had to call back… as a matter of fact, the only differences between now and 2 weeks ago is that

  1. I like the interface [slightly] more and
  2. (…wait for it…)
  3. MY BROWSER WORKS!
3 Responses to “FireFoxRox”


  1. 1 Wendy March 15, 2007 at 6:16 pm

    Apparently, there are also little extensions we can add to the browser as well. I haven’t had a chance to play with those yet.

    A friend of mine shares his list of Firefox extensions at his blog.
    http://www.lby3.com/archives/861

    At some point, I’ll sit down and experiment.

    I don’t remember IE being that customizable…..

  2. 2 Adam June 4, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    From the point of view of a web developer, let me say this: Curse IE forever.

    When coding a web site, there are web standards that define what is “correct” HTML and CSS. IE does not implement the standards faithfully. Moreover, IE’s quirks change with every version. So a web page will probably look the same in Firefox as in Safari as in Opera as in whatever other you might have, but it will look different in IE.

    If you don’t believe me, you can see many examples of stupid IE bugs at Explorer exposed. Paul, even your own blog contains IE workarounds in the code. Look in your source and CSS files for the words “if ie” and “ie hack.” I just did and found two in your css and one in your html.

    Use Firefox if you want to see pages the way web designers intended them to be seen.

  3. 3 pfender June 5, 2007 at 8:26 am

    Well, Adam, you’ve become quite the web developer! Good work!

    I also appreciate the plug ins mentioned by Wendy. One in particular that I like is the Forecastfox (https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/398).

    Oh yes, is raahhhhrrry nice…


Leave a Reply

