Warning:Public Education rant

I’ll keep this short and sweet, but I’ve just GOT to vent somewhere, so…

Lately I’ve gotten to missing the good old days of teaching at a Junior High and was thinking I might like to try substitute teaching one or two days a month/quarter just to mix things up a bit. So I call the local school district and get some details from them when I hear this little gem… “with your qualifications, you would be paid about 52 dollars a day.”

…[Stunned] silence from me, expecting Sally Struthers to come on the line and tell me how “just $52/day can feed a family of 8 and provide much needed medical care…

“That’s ‘a day’?!?” I say.

“Yes” is the simply reply.

“Did I mention that I have a Masters degree in Instructional Technology and taught as a Regular Full Time certified teacher in this state for two years?”

“Yes, you mentioned that”

“Did also I mention that I taught high school in a foreign country and have been a designing, developing and delivering instruction for a multi-billion dollar international corporation since then?”

“Uh, yes, you mentioned that as well.”

“Alrighty then, let me consider my options and I’ll get back to you.” *click*

…Wow…. I mean, just, wow…

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, let me place before you the facts;

  1. the local school district begins the school day at 7:45AM and ends at 2:15PM
  2. this requires [substitute] teachers to be there, at the ABSOLUTE BARE MINIMUM, from 7:30AM until 2:30PM resulting in a 7 hour work day.
  3. this leads to the mind-boggling calculation of …drum roll please… $7.14 per hour to safeguard the future leaders of America.
  4. Don’t try to pull any “they get their summers off” junk out of your hat – that’s PER HOUR, not per year.

Unconscionable. Reprehensible. Unacceptable. And, ultimately, not surprising. I can’t even type the words without getting frustrated and angry and sad all at the same time.

If this is a topic that interests you, leave a comment and we can talk about it more but I just don’t have it in me to even think about what this implies about how we “value” education any more.

0 Responses to “Warning:Public Education rant”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

